Uhuru Kenyatta names cabinet, retains Fred Matiangi

by David Karani

President Uhuru Kenyatta has sent home more than 13 members of his cabinet in a new list he released today.

The president only retained six Cabinet Secretaries namely Fred Matiang’i (Interior), Charles Keter (Energy), Najib Balala (Tourism), Henry Rotich (Treasury), Joe Mucheru (ICT) and James Macharia (Transport).

At the same time, Kenyatta appointed the Director of Public Prosecution Keriako Tobiko, former Marsabit governor Ukur Yatani and former Turkana Senator John Munyes as new Cabinet Secretaries.

Former Nakuru Governor Kinuthia Mbugua is the new State House Comptroller. He replaces Lawrence Lenayapa who has been designated as Kenya’s ambassador to the Ntherlands.

In further changes, President Kenyatta dropped Ndegwa Muhoro as Director of Criminal Investigations and named George Kinoti in the position in an acting capacity.

Also to be deployed from the police force are two deputies to the Inspector General of Police, Joel Mboya Kitili and Samuel Arachi. They have been replaced by Edward Njoroge Mbugua and Noor Gabao in an acting capacity.

Joseph Kinyua will continue to serve as the head of civil service deputized by Wanyama Musiambo while Nzioka Waita has been promoted to be Chief of Staff and head Presidential Delivery unit.

Among those who were shown the door are cabinet secretaries for Defence (Raychelle Omamo), sports (Sports) and irrigation (Eugene Wamalwa).

Following his appointment, Tobiko has resigned as the DPP.


No comments yet! You be the first to comment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 + six =